Privacy policy | bpost

Since the establishment of bpost, your privacy is one of our core values. The clearest example of this is our strict compliance with the confidentiality of mail in accordance with the Belgian constitution and the European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms.  

In a world that is becoming more digital, bpost must collect and process personal data to be able to deliver the products and services that you desire. This document explains our policy to protect your privacy and personal data so that we can continue to merit your trust.  

Personal data

Personal data include all specific information related to a natural person who can be identified. It includes your name, address, telephone number, email address, date of birth, products and services that you have used, information that you provided via our website or other contact channels, etc. 

    Gathering personal data

    bpost postal activities 

    Your personal data can be processed by bpost for carrying out and improving the efficiency and quality of its postal, newspaper and packages delivery services. That information is usually given to bpost by the sender of post or packages; it generally includes your name, address, telephone number, email address, a description of the items sent, and the name and address of the sender. 

    For destinations outside Belgium, certain data related to the shipment may also be given to the authorities of the country/countries of transit or destination for customs clearance and taxes or for security checks. The following information can be communicated: name and address of the sender and the addressee, description of the goods, number of items, weight and value of the shipment. These data are never used by bpost for marketing purposes. 

     

    Other bpost services 

    Your personal data can also be processed as part of financial or other services provided by bpost (e.g. forwarding of post due to moving, bpaid prepaid credit card services, etc.). In such cases, the general terms and conditions of the service that you are using contain a specific information statement. In general, we use the personal data that you give us to offer the services you have requested, for administrative purposes, or to satisfy legal requirements. 

     

    Recording phone conversations between bpost customers and bpost call centre employees 

    bpost makes audio recordings of phone conversations between callers and call centre employees. The following data are registered or saved: identification data, the telephone number, the conversation, the time and duration of the call, and the department associated with the call. 

    It concerns calls to the numbers 02 278 50 44 (private customers), 02 201 11 11 (business customers), 02 274 09 034 (RIZIV orders) and 02 278 55 60 (traffic fines) and calls made from these numbers when employees phone callers back as part of a dossier follow-up. 

    The objective of recording conversations is to improve bpost's service to customers via ‘phone coaching’ and by analysing large quantities of calls related to the same service or to a certain problem that customers are dealing with. 

    Fifty per cent of the calls (and the abovementioned details related to those calls) are registered and saved for a period of maximum six months, after which the recordings and details are destroyed. 

    In the specific case of calls to the bpost banking service (postal info, option 1 on 02 278 50 44), the MiFID II legislation (Directive 2014/65/EU on financial instruments markets and amending Directive 2002/92/EC and Directive 2011/61/EU) requires bpost to save and store the registration of phone conversations or electronic communication that are related to transactions concluded when dealing on one's own account and the provision of services related to receiving, transmitting and executing client orders, for a period of 10 years. 

     

    bpost websites 

    Your personal data can be processed by bpost to give you feedback regarding a question, request or complaint. In that case, the following data are processed: your name, address, phone number, email address, and a description of the question, request or complaint. 

    For the use of cookies, we refer to our “Cookies policy”. 

     

    Data processing by bpost for direct marketing purposes 

    If you are a bpost customer, we can use your personal data – unless you have objected to such further use – to contact you, after analysing your profile, for commercial purposes, and to inform you about our products and services. 

    If you are not a bpost customer, your personal data will not be used for commercial purposes unless you have given explicit consent. In any case, you can revoke your permission at any time (see below). 

     

    Processing the data of children 

    bpost's products and services are not aimed at children and bpost does not promote or market its services to children. If you think that we accidentally or unintentionally collected and used the personal data of a minor without the appropriate permission (from a person who is capable and authorised to give consent), inform us via the information form so that we can immediately delete such data from our servers and make the necessary corrections. 

     

    Camera surveillance 

    bpost has installed surveillance cameras in publicly accessible enclosed locations to guarantee the safety of its personnel and property, and to clarify the circumstances of an accident, theft or other incidents. 

    The images are viewed in real-time at large bpost sites (sorting centres, headquarters in Brussels, EMC/Brucargo, Jemelle, stamp printing house in Mechelen, Cargoville) by the operators of a certified, external video room that, if necessary, calls for an intervention in the event of a violation, damage, or public disturbance. 

    In other bpost sites, the images are analysed by the bpost Security department or the certified, external incident room in the event of incidents or alarms. 

    The images are stored for 30 days. 

      Handing over personal data

      bpost does not communicate, sell, transmit or spread your personal data to parties outside the bpost group, unless this is required to execute the agreement (e.g. delivery of post or a package abroad, collection or delivery of post or packages by logistics partners, delivery of packages in a post point, etc.), unless this is a legal requirement, or unless you gave bpost your explicit permission to do so. 

      Access to your personal data can be granted to our IT service providers who are sometimes located outside the European Economic Area. All the measures described in the contractual model provisions of the EU are imposed on these service providers. 

        Data storage

        Your personal data are stored for the duration of your subscription to our services, as long as is required by law, for the period necessary to handle complaints, for the period that is listed in the information statement that was supplied when you communicated your data, and for thirty (30) days after your request for termination. 

          Data security

          bpost takes technical and organisational security measures to protect your personal data from destruction, loss, alteration, inspection or misuse. bpost also undertakes to limit access to the personal data whenever possible, and only grants access when this is necessary. Employees who have access to the data are informed of their obligations regarding data security. The security measures are reviewed regularly and adjusted to guarantee a suitable level of security. 

            How can you inspect your personal data?

            If you want to inspect your personal data and correct it if necessary, if you want it to be deleted or wish to limit the processing of your personal data, if you wish to contest the processing of your personal data or wish to withdraw your consent, or if you want to transfer the data, you can contact us online via the web form or you can send a dated and signed request, together with a copy of your ID card, to the following address: bpost, Data Protection Office, Munt Centrum (14B), 1000 Brussels. We will reply within 30 days. 

            If you don't receive the expected answer to your request, you can lodge a complaint with the authorised authority in Belgium: https://www.gegevensbeschermingsautoriteit.be/

              Contact

              If you have questions related to the processing of your personal data, you can contact bpost's Data Protection Office: bpost, Data Protection Office, Munt Centrum (14B), 1000 Brussels.

Politique en matière de protection de la vie privée | bpost

Le respect de votre vie privée est une valeur fondamentale pour bpost depuis sa création. L’exemple le plus concret est le respect absolu du secret de la correspondance (ou secret de la lettre) conformément à la Constitution belge et à la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme et des libertés fondamentales.  

Toutefois, dans un monde de plus en plus digitalisé, bpost doit également collecter et traiter certaines données à caractère personnel afin de vous délivrer les produits et services que vous souhaitez. Via cette page, bpost souhaite vous expliquer sa politique en matière de protection de la vie privée et de vos données à caractère personnel afin de continuer à mériter votre confiance.  

Données à caractère personnel

Par donnée à caractère personnel, on entend toute information spécifique concernant une personne physique qui peut être identifiée. Il s’agit notamment de votre nom, votre adresse, votre numéro de téléphone, votre adresse email, votre date de naissance, les produits et services que vous utilisez, les informations que vous nous transmettez à travers notre site internet ou nos différents canaux de contact, etc. 

    Collecte de données à caractère personnel

    Opérations postales de bpost 

    Vos données à caractère personnel sont susceptibles d’être traitées par bpost pour exécuter ses services de distribution de lettres, journaux et colis et en améliorer l’efficacité et la qualité. Ces informations sont généralement fournies à bpost par les expéditeurs de lettres ou colis. Il s’agit généralement de vos nom, adresse, numéro de téléphone et adresse e-mail, de la description des marchandises transportées et des nom et adresse de l’expéditeur. 

    En cas d’expédition à l’étranger, certaines données relatives au transport sont également susceptibles d’être communiquées aux autorités du ou des pays de transit ou de destination en vue du règlement des frais de douane et autres taxes et du contrôle de sécurité. Les données fournies comprennent : nom et adresse de l’expéditeur, nom et adresse du destinataire, description, nombre, poids et valeur des marchandises transportées. Ces données ne seront jamais utilisées par bpost à des fins de marketing. 

     

    Autres services de bpost 

    Vos données personnelles sont aussi susceptibles d’être traitées dans le cadre de services financiers ou d’autres services fournis par bpost (par exemple, le transfert de courrier en cas de déménagement, la carte prépayée bpaid, etc.). Une déclaration de confidentialité spécifique figure dans les conditions générales du service que vous avez souscrit. En règle générale, nous utilisons les données à caractère personnel que vous mettez à notre disposition pour fournir les services que vous avez commandés, à des fins administratives ou pour remplir une obligation légale. 

     

    Enregistrement des conversations téléphoniques entre les clients de bpost et ses call centers 

    bpost enregistre les conversations téléphoniques entre les appelants et les collaborateurs du call center. Les données enregistrées sont : les données d’identification, le numéro de téléphone, la conversation, l’heure de l’appel, la durée de l’appel et le service concerné par l’appel. 

    Il s’agit des appels vers les numéros 02 278 50 44 (clients résidentiels), 02 201 11 11 (clients professionnels), 02 274 09 034 (commandes INAMI) et 02 278 55 60 (amendes routières) et des appels à partir de ces numéros lorsque des collaborateurs rappellent les appelants dans le cadre du suivi d’un dossier. 

    Les appels sont enregistrés dans le but d’améliorer le service que bpost propose à ses clients, d’une part via le coaching de ses opérateurs et d’autre part en analysant les appels relatifs au même service ou au même problème rencontré par les clients. 

    Au total, 50 % des appels sont enregistrés et conservés pour une durée maximale de 6 mois (avec les données connexes susmentionnées), après quoi les enregistrements et les données sont détruits. 

    Dans le cas particulier des appels au service bancaire (Postinfo, 02 278 50 44, option 1), la réglementation MiFID II (Directive 2014/65/UE sur les marchés d’instruments financiers et modifiant la directive 2002/92/CE et la directive 2011/61/UE), impose à bpost de conserver l’enregistrement des conversations téléphoniques ou des communications électroniques concernant les transactions conclues dans le cadre d’une négociation pour son compte propre et la prestation de services relatifs aux commandes clients concernant la réception, la transmission et l’exécution des commandes clients pour une durée de 10 ans. 

     

    Sites internet de bpost 

    Vos données à caractère personnel sont susceptibles d'être traitées par bpost pour donner suite à une question, une requête ou une plainte. Les données traitées sont vos nom, adresse, numéro de téléphone, adresse e-mail et une description de la question, requête ou plainte. 

    Concernant l’utilisation des cookies, nous vous référons à notre « Politique relative à l’utilisation de cookies » 

     

    Traitement de données par bpost à des fins de marketing direct 

    Si vous êtes client de bpost, nous pouvons, sauf opposition de votre part, utiliser vos données à caractère personnel pour vous contacter à des fins commerciales, après analyse de votre profil, pour vous informer à propos de nos produits et services. 

    Si vous n'êtes pas client de bpost, vos données à caractère personnel ne seront pas utilisées à des fins commerciales, sauf si vous y avez explicitement consenti. Dans tous les cas, vous pouvez retirer votre consentement à tout moment (voir infra). 

    Traitement de données à caractère personnel d’enfants 

    Les produits et services de bpost ne sont pas destinés aux enfants, et bpost ne fait pas la publicité de ses services ni ne les commercialise auprès d’enfants. Si vous pensez que nous avons recueilli et utilisé, par erreur ou par inadvertance, des données à caractère personnel concernant un mineur d’âge, et ce, sans consentement approprié (d’une personne habilitée à donner cette autorisation), veuillez nous en informer au moyen de notre formulaire de renseignements, de manière à ce que nous puissions immédiatement effacer ces données de nos serveurs et apporter toute autre correction nécessaire. 

     

    Surveillance par caméra 

    bpost a installé des caméras de surveillance dans des lieux fermés accessibles au public dans le but, d’une part, d’assurer la sécurité de son personnel et de ses biens, et d’autre part, de clarifier a posteriori les circonstances d’un accident, vol ou autre incident. 

    En ce qui concerne les caméras installées dans les principaux sites opérationnels de bpost (centres de tri, HQ, EMC/Brucargo, Jemelle, stamp printing factory Mechelen, Cargoville), les images sont visualisées en temps réel par des opérateurs d’une société externe agréée afin de permettre, au besoin, une intervention immédiate en cas d’infraction, de dommage, d’incivilité ou d’atteinte à l’ordre public. 

    En ce qui concerne les autres sites de bpost, les images sont consultées par bpost Security ou le central externe agréé en cas d’incident ou d’alarmes. 

    Les images sont conservées 30 jours. 

      Transfert de données à caractère personnel

      bpost ne partagera pas, ne vendra pas, ne transférera pas ni ne diffusera d’aucune autre manière vos données à caractère personnel à des parties autres que les groupes bpost, sauf si l’objet du contrat l’exige (par exemple, livraison d’un courrier ou colis dans un pays étranger, collecte et distribution de courrier ou colis par un partenaire logistique, distribution de colis par un point poste, etc.), si la loi l’exige ou si vous l’y autorisez expressément. 

      Par ailleurs, vos données à caractère personnel peuvent être rendues accessibles à nos fournisseurs de services informatiques, qui se trouvent parfois en dehors de l’Espace économique européen. Ces fournisseurs sont soumis à toutes les mesures exposées dans les clauses contractuelles européennes types. 

        Conservation des données

        Vos données à caractère personnel sont conservées pendant toute la durée de votre abonnement à nos services, pendant la durée exigée par la loi, pendant le temps nécessaire au traitement des plaintes, pendant la durée indiquée dans la déclaration de confidentialité que vous avez reçue au moment où vous avez communiqué vos données et pendant trente (30) jours à compter de votre demande de résiliation. 

          Sécurité des données

          bpost prendra les mesures techniques et organisationnelles nécessaires à la protection de vos données à caractère personnel contre la destruction, la perte, la modification, l’accès ou le traitement non autorisé. bpost s’engage, en outre, à limiter l’accès aux données à caractère personnel aux situations dans lesquelles cet accès est indispensable. Les employés ayant accès à ces données ont été informés de leurs obligations en matière de protection des données. Ces mesures de sécurité sont régulièrement revues et adaptées afin d’assurer un niveau de protection adéquat. 

            Comment pouvez-vous contrôler vos données ?

            Si vous souhaitez accéder à vos données à caractère personnel, obtenir qu’elles soient corrigées si nécessaire ou effacées, limiter ou refuser leur traitement, retirer votre consentement, obtenir leur portabilité, vous pouvez à tout moment nous contacter en ligne via Le formulaire internet ou en nous envoyant une demande écrite, datée et signée, avec une copie de votre carte d’identité, à l’adresse suivante : bpost, Data Protection Office, Centre Monnaie (14B), 1000 Bruxelles. Vous recevrez une réponse dans les 30 jours. 

            Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait par la suite donnée à votre demande, vous pouvez introduire une plainte auprès de l’autorité compétente en Belgique : https://www.autoriteprotectiondonnees.be/

              Contact

              Si vous avez des questions concernant le traitement de vos données à caractère personnel, veuillez contacter le département de bpost chargé de la protection des données : bpost, Data Protection Office, Centre Monnaie (14B), 1000 Bruxelles